2024 Searchable Results & Photos (Click individual results for Splits)

2024 Award Winners

2023 Searchable Results & Photos

2023 Overall Results with Splits

2023 Award Winners

2022 Searchable Results & Photos

2022 Overall Results with Splits

2022 Award Winners

2021 Searchable Results & Photos

2021 Overall Results

2021 Overall Split Times

2021 Award Winners

2021 Kings & Queens of the Mountain

2021 USATF Female Masters

2021 USATF Female Overall

2021 USATF Male Masters

2021 USATF Male Overall

2020 Virtual Results

2019 Overall Results

2019 Women Overall Results

2019 Overall Results, 8 mile & Monster Mtn splits

2019 Award Winners

2019 Searchable Results

2018 Overall Results (with 8 mile & Monster Mtn splits)

2018 Women Overall Results

2018 Award Winners

2018 Monster Mountain Splits (Mile 1.8)

2018 Searchable Results

2017 Overall Results

2017 Award Winners

2017 Monster Mountain Splits

2016 Overall Results

2016 Award Winners

2016 Monster Mountain Splits

2016 Mile 8 Splits

Results (1998-2015)


Course Records (current route)

Male – Lawrence Kipkoech (2023): 1:05:46
Female – Betsy Sigei: 1:14:08

King of the Mountain – David Bett (2024): 9:44
Queen of the Mountain – Betsy Sigei (2024): 10:53

Previous Winners






2024David Bett1:06:07Betsy Sigei1:14:08!
2023Lawrence Kipkoech1:05:46!Sarah Naibei1:15:50
2022Dominic Korir1:06:51Liz Lagoy1:20:02
2021Tyler McCandless1:07:52Sara Vaughn1:15:16
2019Dominic Korir1:07:34Ivy Kibet1:15:30
2018Brandon Johnson1:08:15AnnMarie Kirkpatrick1:20:17
2017Gebrekidan Abadi1:07:28Margaret Callahan1:23:27
2016Stephen Pretak1:16:48Brianne Nelson1:16:44
2015Paul Peterson1:15:27Kara Henry1:24:29
2014Michael Chavez1:12:00Anna Weber1:26:01
2013Paul Peterson1:10:32Kelly Ramirez1:26:01
2012Jason Delaney1:11:07Brianne Nelson1:20:35
2011Ng’ojoy Japeth1:12:50Brianne Nelson1:25:42
2010Steve Folkerts1:14:59Kara Roy1:24:09
2009Marc Lonac1:13:59Noelle Green1:27:16
2008LaFlecha Hernandez1:14:17Leora Jordan1:33:22
2007Tyler Foos1:16:14Tanya Poel1:27:03
2006Austin Vigil1:11:48Nikole Johns1:25:50
2005Gannon White1:15:21Amanda Lovato1:29:03
2004Daniel Shaw1:14:13Alyssa Shaw1:29:16
2003Florian Hild1:13:12Jane Welzel1:26:35
2002Mark Werner1:11:20Nicole Kulikoff1:23:41
2001Andy Ames1:13:15Maddy Tormoen1:27:56
2000Juan Hernandez1:11:51Colleen Stroud1:27:24
1999Andy Ames1:14:15Kelli Lusk1:26:48
1998Andy Ames1:11:15Patty Murray1:24:07
1997Andy Ames1:12:23Julie Foster1:30:09
1996Pablo Vigil1:16:36Maddy Tormoen1:24:42
1995Chuck Trujillo1:12:53Tracey Behrends1:31:30
1994Tim Jones1:15:23Marlo Crosby1:30:29
1993Pablo Vigil1:15:42  

How Do the Hills Impact Time?

After decades of results and tens of thousands of finisher data points, the hilly Horsetooth Half course is generally considered to run about 4 minutes slower (approximately 5%) than a flat, sea level course for those running at the front of the race.

Previous Courses

The Horsetooth Half Marathon has been run annually since 1974; however, the course has changed a number of times due to construction on the Horsetooth Reservoir dams and, more recently, to accommodate growth in the size of the field. According to race historian and previous winner (1986), John Lonsdale, there have been at least six versions of the course over the years.

1974-1977: In the early years, the race was not much more than a hard training run among a few dozen friends, but they were the years that established the original route. It started at the intersection of LaPorte Avenue and Overland Trail. The runners went west toward the site of the CSU Foothills Campus, jumping a gate along the way. Nearing the eastern edge of Horsetooth Reservoir, the runners headed south on a singletrack trail along Dixon Canal. Jumping another gate, the runners continued south on the dirt trail toward Hughes Stadium, where they linked with County Road 42C and finished on the hills near today’s Pineridge Natural Area. The route took the runners north on County Road 23 (Centennial Drive), along the east side of Horsetooth Reservoir to Bingham Hill Road. From there, runners went over the two hills to Overland Trail, heading south to Shiloh Drive at the finish.

Nobody remembers who won that first iteration of the race, but John Lonsdale believes either Wes Crist or Ron Smith likely won it. Irish Elementary School teacher Donna Messenger and former Colorado State Marathon record holder was one of two women who ran that first race, and she is credited with being the women’s winner of the inaugural running.

1978-2006: Known locally as the “classic route,” the race started as it does today on County Road 42C adjacent to Hughes Stadium, but headed east to Overland Trail where runners ran north to Bingham Hill Road. From there, runners essentially ran the first 8 miles of today’s course in reverse heading west over Bingham Hill toward Centennial Drive before heading south on Centennial Drive back to the finish at Hughes Stadium.

1982 & 1985: In 1982 and ’85, the course was altered due to construction on the dams. The alternate course headed east on Drake Road from the stadium to Taft Hill where it turned south to 38E. From there it headed west around the southeast side of the reservoir to South Bay, where it turned around and ran back to Centennial Drive, heading north over Dixon Dam’s “Maniac Hill” to the finish at the stadium.

2001-2004: The classic route was altered due to resurfacing work that was taking place on the Centennial Road dams between 2000 and 2004. The alternate route started on the north side of the stadium and headed north on Overland Trail to US 287B where it turned west past Cache La Poudre Middle School to Vern’s, veering west on Rist Canyon Road to Bellvue. At what used to be the Bellvue Bean, the route headed south on N Co Rd 23 (Centennial Drive) for a short distance to Bingham Hill Road. It then came back east over Bingham Hill and turned back south onto Overland Trail and returned to the Stadium where it finished.

2007 – present: see current race route.